Welcome to blogging!

April 26, 2006 at 5:20 pm 35 comments

Hello everyone. Over the last several weeks I have been campaigning on the benefits of blogging, particularly on how it could improve communication in the core ministries (men, women, and youth).

Blogging has its advantages over traditional e-mail. For one, all posts and related responses are cataloged and save in one place which makes it possible for everyone to return at a later date and review them. They can also be used as a way to survey a community really quickly on a subject. On that note, I am hoping that we can setup a blog for the youth minitsry over the next week. The idea is to have the youth start conversing about the upcoming Retreat.

What better way to evaluate the benefits of blogging than for us to try it out ourselves. So I signed us up for one (its a free product). Post your comments when you stop by.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Testing Video Blogging

35 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tayo  |  April 26, 2006 at 7:02 pm

    I think this would be a great and effective way to share ideas on what we do… as mentioned many times before, we are one of the busiest ministries, so communication is key in everything we do…

    Here’s to the PRO Blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 2. Gex  |  April 26, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    Hmm… Nice. But how does this work.

  • 3. Chinedu  |  April 27, 2006 at 3:07 am

    Looking out for more comments. Where is everyone??? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  • 4. gex  |  April 27, 2006 at 5:27 am

    cool……..

  • 5. Ify  |  April 27, 2006 at 12:22 pm

    Awesome….so this is more like a guesbook huh….I like…..I like….I really like…..More greese to your elbows o……

  • 6. jessica  |  April 27, 2006 at 2:08 pm

    i still dont get this o…

  • 7. clarisa  |  April 27, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    hey! na wah oh! this is cool. so uh this is so we can communicate huh? i like… uh who is Gex?

  • 8. clarisa  |  April 27, 2006 at 2:57 pm

    so whats the next big thing that’s happening Chinedu?

  • 9. gex  |  April 27, 2006 at 3:42 pm

    Who is Gex!! Don’t tell me u don’t know who gex is.

  • 10. Gex  |  April 27, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    Right…

  • 11. Chinedu  |  April 27, 2006 at 4:13 pm

    My comments here might be long, so bear with me.

    Like Ify said, this is something like a forum but with more functionality. How it works is, I post a general topic of interest to this forum and then everyone logs in and leaves their comments. Some of the high points of this method are:

    1. Everyone gets to monitor our responses on the subject. And, since they are all saved in one place, we have a record for posterity. In some ways this is an improvement over e-mail. It will however not replace e-mails (particularly for one-on-one communication).

    2. If you look on the right hand side you'll notice a section titled "Feeds" with two links titled "Comments RSS" and "Entries RSS". These two links allow for anyone of us to monitor this forum without necessarily being on the site always. This is how I know when anyone of us responds. You can do the same too. I believe yahoo and gmail allow you to include RSS feeds. I myself personally use my e-mail client (Mozilla Thunderbird). I'll find some instructions for gmail and yahoo.

    3. Also, and this is one of the nicest parts, we can actually put up diiferent types of media for people to comment about. For example, the next big posting for us to review and comment about will be one of the video clips from Rutgers LGC gospel concert on Sunday in which Clarissa performed. Look out for that one.

  • 12. Clarisa  |  April 27, 2006 at 11:29 pm

    no i dont know who gex is… identify yourself! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • 13. jessica  |  April 28, 2006 at 12:33 am

    gex is chidi o…
    but chidi, u got to tell us what gex means now…

  • 14. Chinedu  |  April 28, 2006 at 12:39 pm

    I like the fact that we are returning back to leave comments. What do you all think so far?

  • 15. clarisa  |  April 28, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    I think it is very cool…

  • 16. Chinedu  |  April 28, 2006 at 3:20 pm

    Clarissa:

    You are certainly the champion of this forum. I would have said second only to me but you have one more response than I do. ๐Ÿ™‚

    How do you get to monitor if and when someone leaves a response? Do you have to browse to this link often?

  • 17. Gex (Chidi)  |  April 28, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    Cool.. What Concert? I’m lost.
    what are u guys talking about? Oh…. u mean the concert!! right…
    I get u now. Hmm.. it’s true I really what to see videos from the concert. it’s been long u know. it’s been long ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 18. Gex (Chidi)  |  April 28, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    Cool.. What Concert? Iโ€™m lost.
    what are u guys talking about? Ohโ€ฆ. u mean the concert!! rightโ€ฆ
    I get u now. Hmm.. itโ€™s true I really want to see videos from the concert. itโ€™s been long u know. itโ€™s been long ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  • 19. Chinedu  |  April 28, 2006 at 11:20 pm

    I really want using this forum to be very easy for everyone. So, I found and added a link to an RSS Reader which you can download. An RSS Reader can automatically notify you when someone leaves a comment and with this particular one you can leave your comments using the same window.

    A link to download it is to the left of this page. Let me know how it works out.

  • 20. Obika  |  April 29, 2006 at 8:53 am

    This is a good idea, have heard alot about blogging but have never used it before. Will be looking out for the video since i was not able to attend.

  • 21. Chinedu  |  April 29, 2006 at 11:40 am

    Sure thing Obi. Did you try using the RSS Reader?

  • 22. KC, Nwachukwu alais Nwa-Pastor  |  April 30, 2006 at 6:20 pm

    Radies and Genturumen, I am vely facinating by dis wandafu demonsteration of tekenorogy. Ret us communicate in united soridarity of togetherness ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 23. Obika  |  May 1, 2006 at 2:13 am

    yes i downloaded the reader, at 1st was only able to see the comments but i realized that they seperated the comments from entries. All good now. I think we all need to pitch in and send KC back to spelling school. ๐Ÿ˜€

  • 24. Chinedu  |  May 1, 2006 at 3:45 am

    True my brother. But I no blame KC too much. English na im second language.

    So, what do you all say about setting up something similar for the Youth Ministry?

  • 25. Reenile  |  May 31, 2006 at 12:07 pm

    Joined the crew last thursday…..awsm exp***

  • 26. Chinedu  |  June 3, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    Who is Reenile???

  • 27. gex  |  June 3, 2006 at 9:46 pm

    I don’t know who reenile is. Who knows….. ?

  • 28. reenile  |  July 2, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    come on gex… don’t hate on my dvd – NOTE: DVD – camcorder

  • 29. Reenile  |  July 2, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    aww don’t be jealouf

  • 30. Chi Chi Okonkwo  |  July 4, 2006 at 4:54 pm

    wow i havnt commented on the blog in 4ever, wen does the new anchor com out cuz i kinda need to rite sumthin, srry KC. (:

  • 31. Reenile  |  July 5, 2006 at 2:27 am

    need to know.. how do you put the funny faces ???

  • 32. gex  |  July 8, 2006 at 11:17 am

    Oh look Reenile is so cool, he’s the smartest person in the world… oh my gosh I wish I had a dvd camcorder as cool as his… If only I was not a geek… If only I was not a jealouf rice then maybe someday I will be half as cool as Reenile is !!…!

  • 33. gex  |  July 8, 2006 at 11:18 am

    Reenile… ur the greatest. Ya my hero…

  • 34. Reenile  |  July 11, 2006 at 9:25 pm

    mmmmmmm o…..k

  • 35. Chi Chi Okonkwo  |  July 16, 2006 at 2:54 pm

    um… stil no answer huh??? ok ill ask agen wen is the anchor comin out????????

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Get an RSS Reader



